Bargain Hunting: Found “Kaze no Yojimbo”

Trying to round out a couple of series…

…while taking a leap into something new.

I stopped by Best Buy and Big Lots today and picked up some cheap anime DVDs. I got Volumes 3 and 6 of Madlax and Chrono Crusade Vol. 5 at BB; from Big Lots, I bought the first four volumes of Kaze no Yojimbo along with Digimon the Movie. Those four Yojimbo discs cover 17 episodes in a series comprised of 25 so I don’t have an excuse for giving up halfway through. Nows I gots to find the time to watch that 425 minutes of adapted-from-a-Kurosawa-film animation and maybe watch the actual movie before starting the series.

Upon seeing that Digimon The Movie had only English audio reminded me of how this “movie” was actually put together from three Japanese movies: Digimon Adventures, Our War Games, and The Golden Digimentals. Some of the American songs that were put in it included “All Star”, “One Week” and “Funk Soul Brother”. Shudder.

There is no “uncut”/Japanese audio version of Digimon anything on DVD in the United States. I don’t mind the name changes to the characters (e.g. Daisuke to Davis) but what I really want is to hear the original Japanese voices without having to look on YouTube or digging out some old fansubs of the other movies. I’m only asking for the first two seasons and maybe the third to be released in box sets or something. After that, don’t bother because it got kind of weird with kids evolving into Digimon themselves in Digimon Frontier (season four). Also, I wasn’t particularly driven to check out Digimon Savers (season five). *sigh* I’m not going to hold my breath though.

3 responses to “Bargain Hunting: Found “Kaze no Yojimbo”

  1. OMG, those are cheap!! I’ve never seen good series marked down like that at Best Buy…I didn’t know that Big Lots sold DVD’s. It’s been a while since I’ve been to a Big Lots.

    Kaze is an excellent series. Madlax is excellent as well, but I had a real hard time trying not to compare it to Noir.

  2. IMHO, Digimon Tamers was the best season created. And yes, I would kill to see it in Japanese with Eng sutitles as well.

  3. Kaze no Yojimbo is a great underrated slow-paced show. Make sure that you watch it with a cup of coffee by your side or at least not when you come home from a exhausting day at school/college/work/whatever. If you liked shows like Monster or to a certain extent Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex, Zipang and Cowboy Bebop (more for the realistic character relationships, pace and dialogue-heavyness than their genres of course). It’s a shame that it got so little publicity (if any) when it was released. Easily one of the best thriller/suspense/mystery realistic shows out there.