“I Was Made To Hit in America!”

BECK band members

At Anime Boston this weekend, it was formerly announced that Funimation has the North American license for BECK: Mongolian Chop Squad. This news made my weekend as this series is one I've been wanting to come to America. The question is: "Will this sell in America?" I think it will sell alright because of the rock elements but AnimeNation's "Ask John" (4/4/05) is less optimistic.

Funimation had long been rumored to be the licensor, due to domain registration info. Beckanime.com was registered on 10/20/2004, and Mongolianchopsquad.com on 4/13/2005, both by Funi. It was only a matter of time before it was made official. Now, no release dates or estimates were announced but I would guess the first volume should come out in next summer.

I'm interested in how the dub works out, especially how they choose to deal with Maho's (and others') Engrish. The Engrish was the funniest parts of the series along with Saito's teaching swimming. But, "language-difference" humor seems difficult to portray when all the characters are voiced in English.

Azumanga Daioh had a scene outside an airport where Yukari tries to help Kagura talk to a foreigner (more specifically, German). I seem to remember that in Japanese the gaijin actually spoke German. I might have to go back and watch how that scene was dubbed and post a comparison later. They probably dubbed in German also, considering they kept dubbed Asuka's German in Evangelion. However, she was a main character while Azu's airport guy was a one-scene wonder.

Whenever this comes out, I'm going to buy it because I watched it through fansubs and also because I want to make a Beck AMV (with Foreigner's "Jukebox Hero") using quality source.

One response to ““I Was Made To Hit in America!”

  1. Bonjour,
    Héhé un petit commentaire français :p
    Vive le rock et l’Amérique,
    donc voilà^^
    =)