Kaze no Yojimbo Vol. 1 – A New Face In Town

Almost five months ago, I picked up the first four volumes of Kaze no Yojimbo for cheap at Big Lots and now I’m slowly making my way through them. The series is based on the 1961 Akira Kurosawa film “Yojimbo” and I might have to see that some time because I’m digging what I’ve seen so far on this first disc. The setup of the anime is as follows: a man named George Kodama enters the small mining town of Kimujuku looking for a man’s house and, in doing so, stokes the fires of a conflict between the town’s two power brokers and their factions. He works as a “bodyguard” to put food in his stomach as he digs into the dark history of what happened fifteen years ago.

The main focus of the series is George’s investigation and the trouble he gets himself into but there are also some slight romantic elements. An interesting relationship are developing in this first volume between George and Miyuki, a girl he is hired to protect by her rich father Tanokura-san. He is 28 and she is 17; she is kind of love with him and he tries to play along without committing to anything. Sanae-san, the owner of the inn George is staying at, also seems be attracted to him (both are the same age) but it is hinted that she is having an affair with Miyuki’s father, something that irks Miyuki. Sanae is also likes to go rifle shooting, which comes off a little suspicious when remembering that George had been shot at from a distance while walking near a swamp in a previous episode.

Episode five had George leaving town for a day to look into what was ruled a suicide but he thinks was a murder. He also thinks it was related to an strange occurrence fifteen years prior in which a train car disappeared into thin air. The next volume will probably have him delving deeper and I’ll be following him along. I’ve enjoyed the series so far and the chemistry between its characters. Hopefully, I can track down the last two volumes for a reasonable price so I won’t have to spring for the entire complete collection set and end up with overlapping episodes.

“Sorry, but I’ll be around for awhile.”

3 responses to “Kaze no Yojimbo Vol. 1 – A New Face In Town

  1. woah :D sounds tight.

  2. Good series. I had completely forgotten that I had ever seen it until I say your post. I’ve always loved good mystery stories, and I would say this qualifies. It has a kind of Higurashi no Naku Koro ni vibe to it, except for not being nearly as freaky and disturbing. Definitely has the small-town big-secret thing going on though.

  3. It was actually ruled as accident. lolz but its ok still amazing. i can’t find anymore of it anywhere! rawr. can you guys help?